The Best Christmas Films

I consider myself to be pretty picky when it comes to films. I don’t normally like love stories, cheesy plotlines, or happy endings (sorry). However, I make exceptions when it comes to Christmas films. I’m pretty sure most people would’ve seen the films on this list, because there aren’t a whole lot of good options to choose from, but just in case you haven’t, here’s my favourites:

  1. Love Actually. Ignoring the few implausible storylines (Colin Firth, do you really want to marry that woman you’ve never spoken to?) and cringeworthy moments (looking at you, Martin Freloveactuallyeman), this film is brilliant. It’s funny, charming and really quite touching at times. And if you don’t cry for Emma Thompson, you are heartless.
  2. Home Alone. How could this not make the list? I must have seen it dozens of times by now (I remember watching it several days in a row with my brother when we were little) and yet I still can’t help laughing at “Merry Christmas, ya filthy animal”.
  3. Die Hard. Hear me out on this one. It’s set at Christmas, the line “ho ho ho” is said, and it starts off with an office party. It’s a Christmas film, ok? And it’s great. I don’t usually like action films either, but this has the right balance of intensity and humour to make it enjoyable. Yippee-ki-yay.
  4. Edward Scissorhands. Also a Christmas film, don’t even try to argue. It’s directed by Tim Burton, so obviously it’s full of weirdness and Johnny Depp. And despite the bizarre storyline, it’s strangely sentimental. But, if that doesn’t sell it for you, just watch it for the whacky outfits and the dude with SCISSORS FOR HANDS.
  5. The Muppet Christmas Carol. It just wouldn’t be Christmas without this film. Even if you only watch it in order to perfect your Michael Caine impression, it’s worth it. Nobody is ever too old for The Muppets.
  6. Elf. I have seen this film so many times. I don’t even think it’s that good, I just like it because it’s super Christmassy. And it’s also got some pretty good lines in it that I find myself quoting pretty much all year round. So if I’ve ever told you that you sit on a throne of lies, I just want to let you know that you have Will Ferrell to blame.
  7. It’s a Wonderful Life. I watched this for the first time just two years ago and I couldn’t believe I’d made it to adulthood without seeing it, as it’s such a well-known classic. Everybody knows the story, but it’s still worth a watch if you haven’t experienced it before.

So, if you haven’t seen some of these, get on it right now! And if anybody wants to recommend me some other good Christmas films, I’d greatly appreciate it.

Yesterday’s post: Festive Food Around the World

Tomorrow’s post: The Real Rudolph

Leave a Reply

