Top 8 Christmas Desserts

Christmas dinner is pretty much the most anticipated meal of the year for me. I don’t often have the opportunity to see all my family in such a short space of time, let alone sit down and share a meal with them. I always pig out far more than I should… and yet I still find room for dessert.

Obviously, there’s a couple of traditional festive puddings, but – at least in my house – we always just go for whatever tastes good. I haven’t had a chance to bake them all, so I’ve decided to consult the internet for recipes in this post (links underneath the pictures). So, without further ado, here are my top 8 desserts to have at Christmas:

pudding
Christmas Pudding

1) We might as well start with one of the classics. It’s boozy, it’s fruity, and you can set it on fire – what more could you want from a dessert?

pie
Apple Pie

2) Always a great choice of dessert at any dinner gathering. I mean, who doesn’t like apple pie?

yule log
Yule Log

3) Another traditional pud – my favourite one, in fact. I’m a sucker for all things chocolatey, and I will never turn down a slice of yule log no matter how full I am.

Panettone.jpg
Panettone

4) I’ve only had this sweet treat once or twice, but it makes for a delicious (and fairly light) choice of after-dinner indulgence.

trifle
Chocolate Trifle

5) This dessert can be whipped up in less than twenty minutes, so if you’re looking for something easy, you’ve found it.

lemon meringue
Lemon Meringue Pie

6) Another favourite of mine. A good lemon meringue pie should be sweet, soft and – most importantly of all – chewy.

classicbanoffeepie_lg
Banoffee Pie

7) I’ve made this a couple of times before. It’s pretty easy, and doesn’t actually require any baking at all. Great for the lazy baker!

sponge cake
Victoria Sandwich

8) You simply can’t go wrong with this classic. Tastes amazing on it’s own, with some fruit, or just a big scoop of vanilla ice cream.


 

Yesterday’s post: The Christmas Drinking Game

Tomorrow’s post: I Wish It Could Be Christmas Every Day

One thought on “Top 8 Christmas Desserts

Leave a Reply

